RSS Feed

Tonton

Those times, I had the feeling I have not been very productive.

A great sorrow caught me when my uncle passed away. He was my music mentor. He encouraged me in doing music and creating. Jacques Sorreau was such a great guitarist. He was mad about bossa nova music and gave a unique brazilian musical patina to my childhood. We were very close, we played piano and guitar together. I humbly wrote my first lyrics for him and I’m keeping a record of him playing and singing my song. It is a song about the morning ambiance at home.

He was ‘Tonton Jacky’ (Uncle Jacky), my uncle.

Since, I composed songs for him,  I had to finish them. But I’m feeling like my creative process is weaker than ever.
Je n’ai pas été très productive ces derniers temps à mon goût.
Une grande tristesse m’a perçé le coeur lors du décès de mon oncle. C’était mon mentor musical; il m’a toujours poussé dans la musique et la création de façon générale. Jacques Sorreau était vraiment un grand guitariste. Il était dingue de bossa nova et a patiné mon enfance de mélodies brésiliennes. Nous étions très proches, nous jouions du piano et de la guitare ensemble. J’ai très humblement écrit mes premières paroles pour lui et j’ai un enregistrement de lui jouant et chantant cette chanson. Elle parle d’une ambiance matinale à la maison.

Il était “Tonton Jacky”, mon tonton.

Depuis, j’ai composé des chansons pour lui, que je dois finir. Mais j’ai l’impression que mon processus est plus fragile que jamais.

About Nathalie Astruc

www.nathalieastruc.com

Leave a Reply

