RSS Feed

Do the Dance, Do the Dance

I’m very happy to have a great apportunity coming to me ! Thanks to Ingrid, wife of my friend Raveendran Perigadan (http://ayuravee.jimdo.com) and teacher of Bharata Natyam (sacred indian dance), I will participate to the inauguration of an olympic stadium in Saint-Paul (West of Reunion island). Ismaël Aboudou dance school (Reunionnese dancer-choreographer known all over the world, http://www.institut-ismael-aboudou.com/) and other dance associations are preparing a big show with the theme of mixing in the Indian ocean, especially for this event.

So I’m learning Bharata Natyam and Kalari (Indian martial art, have a look at the website of my friend through the link above) and I will learn a maloya-jazz one (maloya is a traditionnal Reunionnese music and dance). Other groups will join the show : afro, hip-hop…

It wasn’t a true discover of this graceful dance. I met a Bharata dancer, Prema Santhanagopal and Raveendran Perigadan, my friend on a Taliipot show (local dance and theater group) few years ago. He taught me few postures but I could say I had danced or learnt Bharata. But I was amazed by the beauty in Bharata dance. “Kor Maison du Vent” (Kor refers to Corps so Body, Maison du Vent : Wind House), the show, was stunning. I was a trainee on a local media, trying to promote the local cultur.

A positive energy is already surronding the event which will gather up to 300 dancers ! It will take place on the 26th May. So we just have few weeks to rehearse. Fortunately, we have links towards videos to rehearse at home. I’m so excited to be part of this project !

Je suis très heureuse d’avoir une superbe opportunité s’ouvrir à moi ! Via Ingrid, compagne de mon ami Raveendran Peringadan (http://ayuravee.jimdo.com) et professeur de Bharata Natyam (danse sacrée indienne), je vais participer à l’inauguration du stade olympique de la ville de Saint-Paul. L’école de danse d’Ismaël Aboudou (danseur-chorégraphe réunionnais de renom, http://www.institut-ismael-aboudou.com/) et d’autres associations de danse préparent un spectacle de danse et chant pour l’occasion autour du thème du métissage de l’Océan indien.

J’apprends donc une chorégraphie de Bharata Natyam et de kalari (art martial indien, voir le site internet de Raveendran dont le lien est plus haut) et j’en apprendrais aussi une de maloya-jazz. Il y aura d’autres groupes : afro, hip-hop…

Ce n’est pas une totale découverte de cette danse très gracieuse. J’ai rencontré un danseur de Bharata, Prema Santhanagopal et Raveendran Perigadan, mon ami sur un spectacle de la compagnie Taliipot il y a quelques années. Il m’avait appris quelques postures mais je ne pouvais pas dire que j’avais dansé ni appris le Bharata. Mais j’avais été bluffée par la beauté de ces gestes. Le spectacle “Kor Maison du Vent” était quant à lui simplement superbe. J’étais à l’époque stagiaire chez RFO et je tentais de m’occuper au maximum de la couverture médiatique de la culture.

Il y a une énergie très positive autour de ce projet qui réunira 300 danseurs. L’évènement aura lieu le 26 mai. Il nous reste donc quelques semaines pour répéter. Heureusement, nous avons des liens vers des vidéos pour répéter chez nous. Je suis vraiment très contente de faire partie d’un tel projet !

About Nathalie Astruc

www.nathalieastruc.com

Leave a Reply

